Job Done!

It’s been three days since I did my part as bridesmaid and I’m pleased to report that everything went smoothly. The sun shone on the sleepy village of Dunster and made everything look picture perfect. Highlights of the day were a wonderfully touching speech from the groom paying tribute to his beautiful bride, a great rendition of Etta James’ “At Last” by my good friend and fellow bridesmaid and a fabulous Nigerian inspired evening reception, complete with traditional dress, food, music and performances. All in all I’d say it was a great success, unfortunately I can’t show you any pics just yet as I’ve had a bit of a camera malfunction! I’m hoping that I can get it working again and have pics for my next post (fingers crossed).

To make up for it, I thought I’d show you two bracelets that I created to compliment the dress I wore for the evening reception. It was a black silk and lace vintage style tea dress which I decided to match with Turquoise and Silver jewellery. After trying on each bracelet, I just couldn’t decide which one I liked better with the dress, so I wore them both! Sometimes More is More!

Bracelet #1 is Turquoise Nuggets with Hematite and Silver Rounds

Image

 

Bracelet #2 is Black Agate Rectangles with Turquoise Rounds and Silver Spacers

Image

 

Sunday night after a nice 4 hour drive back from Somerset I settled down on the sofa to watch the closing ceremony of the London 2012 Olympics Games. Whilst I enjoyed the fireworks, Rio De Janeiro handover and the extinguishing of the flame I was actually quite quite sad that it has all come to an end. I’ve really enjoyed attending, watching and being caught up in the Olympic buzz for the past couple of weeks, it was a great reminder of how healthy competition can motivate, excite and bring people together. I certainly noticed that London was a quieter place as I rode the train to work this morning. In an attempt to keep the spirit of London 2012 alive I’ve created my “I Love London 2012” board on Pinterest so check it out if you can. Now, I know that I promised some Olympics inspired pieces but Olympic fever got the better of me and instead of creating new designs I was glued to my TV screen watching everything from Athletics to Water Polo. But all is not lost because there is still time to work my magic before the start of the Paralympics on 29th August, so watch this space!! 

 

Leave a Reply

