Something Old into Something New..

On my last trip to the US I picked up a number of goodies including coloured crystals, natural pyrite, magnetic hematite nuggets and some super slabs of agate. So it’s no surprise that I’m looking forward to my upcoming trip and seeing what gems I can get my hands on this time. The main purpose of this trip is actually to attend a family wedding and with only a couple of days left until I board the plane, I’ve realised that I just don’t have time to make new jewellery. Ok, so it’s not the end of the world, but it is a little upsetting as I usually like to create new pieces for special occasions such as this. I have my outfit all planned out; pale peach coloured polka dot dress, sleeveless,  full floaty skirt falling just on the knee. Accessorising with a black belt with gold buckle, black strappy sandals and just maybe – a fascinator (I do love a bit of over the top head-wear at weddings). Anyway, being super frugal (as I sometimes can be) and wanting to save money to buy more US goodies, I decided to take apart an old imitation pearl necklace and see if I could transform it into something new that would compliment my wedding outfit.

I went from this rather nice extra long necklace…..

To these cute pearl drop earrings…..

 

…And this 3 strand wrap bracelet.

I’m particularly happy with the earrings, they look great with an up do and the multi-layered bracelet just adds that extra bit of vintage glam. The most exciting thing is that it was so quick and easy to take a piece of old jewellery  and turn it into something new and relevant that I can’t believe I don’t do it more often. So, I’m making a promise to myself to start reviving more of my old stuff, rather than just throw it away. Not only will I be saving money, but I’ll be saving the environment too – result!! 😉

Leave a Reply

