Project Restoration

Right now I’m relaxing in sunny California and in my last post before flying out here I said that I probably wouldn’t be posting anything for a week or so, but I’ve been thinking over a little jewellery problem and wanted to share it.

A few months ago on my last trip out to the US, I gifted a necklace to my boyfriend’s grandmother. The piece in question is made of 10mm rounds of red line jasper, 6mm rounds of salwag nut  beads,  orange wood tubes and antique gold coloured metal spacers strung onto some cotton thread. Now the the problem is that Grandma loved wearing it so much that she never took it off and I forgot to mention that daily showers with the necklace were strictly forbidden. So, after 60 days of soakings it finally gave up the ghost and now I’m left with a necklace in ruins and a Grandma who’s eagerly awaiting its return. So my task is to restring it as a waterproof version of it’s former self. I’m thinking of starting with some fireline/wildfire and switching the metal and wood to glass and acrylic. Also, I want to make it a bit longer than before so that I can eliminate the need for a clasp, which will make it easier for grandma to take off before showering. All the while I’m hoping that I can retain at least some of the necklace’s original look (not sure how well that’ll turn out). Sadly I don’t have the “before” picture to show you but here’s the state it’s in now, so sad (apologies for the poor quality pic).

So, I’ll be adding this to the to-do-list when I get home and I’ll let you know how it goes. If anyone has any ideas that may help with the  waterproofing restoration then I’d love to hear from you.

Till next time.

Leave a Reply

