Back to Basics

Over the weekend I was thinking about all the pieces of jewellery I’ve been making over the last few months; the work for the Delicier Collection, Christmas pieces and statement earrings, everything has been elaborate, bold and multi-stranded; it’s tiring work. When you make jewellery you want to keep pushing yourself further. You want to squeeze as many techniques as possible into one piece, you want to do more intricate beadwork, you want to make multi – multi strand bracelets and necklaces – but as we all know sometimes more is less. In fact some of my favourite jewellery pieces and the ones I wear the most often are the most simple.

So, I decided to go back to basics and created a few simple necklaces for everyday wear. The first is yellow dyed jade tubes with carnelian rounds strung and knotted on bronze coloured leather cord. This is one of those subtle and beautiful pieces that can work with almost any day outfit.

photo

The second look was made with with the least possible effort. I took some of the chain I found in New York, made a small simple bail and attached a carnelian slab – voila! It literally took me less than 5 mins to complete and now I have a fabulous new unique piece of jewellery.

photo

Until next time!

Dx

4 thoughts on “Back to Basics

Leave a Reply

