Do I Need Self Control?

Jewellery making can be time consuming. When you’re not stringing, wire wrapping, hammering or firing, there’s designing, photographing, listing and blogging. Add in a full time job and there’s barely enough time in the day to eat and sleep. When your working on something online it’s so easy to loose focus and get distracted. It doesn’t help when you have your email, Facebook and Twitter alerts popping up all over your screen or those pesky targeted advertisements that know just the right time to show you a new bag or pair of shoes.

Recently a friend of mine suggested that I try self control. I was mildly offended, my self control is just fine thanks, but she was actually referring to the Self Control App, which I’d never heard of. Apparently, once installed on your laptop it allows you to block your access to certain websites for a set period of time, thus allowing you to focus solely on your work. It was intrigued, it sounded like an interesting idea. Of course I Googled it and I learnt that Self Control is just one of many apps designed to help you focus when working online. I’ve yet to download any of them. Suddenly I don’t so much like the idea of not having access to what I want, when I want. Why would I subject myself to these self-imposed “parental controls”? Surely I’m old enough and disciplined enough to get on with my work online without having to restrict my access to certain websites? But if that were true, then why have I stopped to check Pinterest and my emails several times whilst writing this short post? I guess it’s a bit like rehab, once you choose to go then you’re admitting to being an addict. Right now I’m not ready to admit to suffering with Internet ADHD, so in the words of Amy Winehouse I’m saying No, No, No!

If your struggling to stay focused online, check it out for yourself…http://selfcontrolapp.com/

Self Control1 Self Control2

9 thoughts on “Do I Need Self Control?

  1. Totally agree. Its the same for me too – between my other job and managing the jewelry business. I think that you just have to start getting into the habit of checking your mail 1 or 2x times per day, turn off the automated notifications, and then set aside lets say 15 minutes to small tasks and then of course a few hours for larger tasks like making jewelry, photography or something else. It takes practice for sure. Let me know how the app goes for you and then I will consider trying it! Perhaps we could also share some jewelry making tips, best of luck to you.

    1. Thanks. I have to admit organisation is not my strong point and you’re right it does take practice. I think before I try the app I’ll do like you suggest and try limiting checking my emails and set aside time where I complete certain tasks and see how that goes. I’ll let you know how that goes. Would love to share some jewellery-making tips too! 🙂

  2. (This could have been me writing this)
    I so need this self control. Or do I? Mine is totally in check. That’s why I have to check my iPad and phone and other stuffs, just to keep up to date with everyone you know.
    Seriously, I will check it out. It may just help. And yes I can admit I am an addict of sorts. 🙂

    1. It’s crazy that there really is an app for everything, even to stop us using the internet!!
      Let me know how you get on if you do try it, I’m going to stay in denial a little longer. 🙂

  3. Very important concept that is definitely not talked about enough: self control. I just really started getting back into the world of health and fitness, and there are constant distractions around me all the time like unhealthy food everywhere I look. I’ve gotten way better at it though! I know I CAN eat the foods, but I choose not to, and then I feel awesome. Thanks for sharing!

    1. Thanks for commenting. You’re so right, especially when it comes to health and fitness, self control is key. I think everyone looks for a quick fix or an easy option nowadays. Instead maybe we should try to work on ourselves and our own self discipline abit more. Good luck to you!

      1. Yup that’s what it’s all about 🙂 Most people are too worried about trying to work on everyone else that they don’t even work on themselves and their self control. Crazy!

Leave a Reply

