An Apology to My WP Blog

I have to apologise to my WP blog as I haven’t been very attentive of late. I’ve been meaning to post a pics of some new jewellery for weeks now, but sadly I just haven’t had the time. What could possibly be keeping me away from the wonderful world of WP I hear you ask – two words – Social Media!!! Let me give you some background as many of you won’t know this, I don’t do social media! Yep, I said it. Until very recently I was part of the anti- social media brigade. It wasn’t that I had anything against it, I’d thought about joining Facebook in the past, I just couldn’t be bothered to set up and constantly update my profile.  It never particularly bothered me not having any social media presence, even with friends insisting I should join. So what if I missed out on the odd FB convo or pics from a night out, my social media savvy friends would always accommodate me by sending me special “non FB user” email updates. I didn’t need to like, poke, tweet or re-tweet anything! So naturally, it’s come to quite a surprise to many when I recently took to both Facebook & Twitter. My friend requests have been met with shock, confusion and incredulity. “Why?” they asked and the answer is simple – I had no other choice. Since deciding to take my jewellery selling seriously and opening my Etsy store, I’m understanding how important social networks are for getting your product or service to your customer. Posting a new piece to FB or Twitter gives it immediate exposure to people from all over the world, people who could all be potential customers. It would be near impossible for me to achieve that any other way.  But the problem is being an active social media user is time consuming. When I’m not at work full time, designing and making new pieces, photographing pieces, writing for my blog, listing new items on Etsy and doing all those other essential life things like eating and sleeping. I now have to make time to post to Facebook, Tweet, like random FB fan pages, send friend requests to build my network and harass said friends to like my FB fan page, it’s exhausting work! Typically, something has to give and sadly it’s been my blog that has been neglected, which is a shame because it’s one of things I enjoy the most. So sorry WP blog, I promise to do better from now on 🙂

i love my blog logo

Until next time!

Dx

7 thoughts on “An Apology to My WP Blog

  1. Wonderful blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many options out there that
    I’m completely confused .. Any suggestions? Cheers!

  2. Once you have everything set up and a reasonable base going, I really would recommend you look into using an application called Buffer to schedule FB and Twitter posts. In one sitting you can set up say 6 posts, which will go out twice a day over the next three days, and then you can sit back and let it do its thing whilst you get on with other important stuff. I find it so handy, especially over weekends. I just keep an eye on my likes and comments, and my favourite pages – it is far less time consuming if you are not having to worry about posting at the same time. Also, I have found that I get way more Etsy traffic from my blog than from FB, although I have had sales directly from FB – so they both have their value 🙂

  3. I’ve just been helping someone get connected on Facebook and warned him that it is a massive time waster. Very handy to use for his business but just doing small things can lead to a lot of time just disappearing. I love it, for both personal and business, but get carried away. Not working outside of the home makes it all slightly easier for me too though, or not.

    1. It’s insane how much time we spend on it. I think that’s one of the reasons I chose not to join up in the first place, but like you said it’s really useful for small businesses especially. I think I’ll have to limit my use of it so I don’t loose endless hours of my time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

