Quick Kumihimo

I had a necklace idea in my head that I thought would be great for the upcoming Autumn season. It requires 2 Kumihimo braids, so I borrowed my Mum’s round Kumihimo disk and got to work. I can’t believe that after all the beads, threads and beading equipment I’ve bought, I don’t have my own Kumihimo disk. They’re great! Once you get the hang of it, the technique is fast, super simple and I find the the repetitiveness of creating the braid quite therapeutic.  Annoyingly, once I’d finished this braid, I realised that it wasn’t going to work in my necklace as I’d envisioned it (I hate it when that happens!). I think I’ll need to start over with a different type of cord, maybe some rattail so that the braid has a nice sheen finish. I’ll let you know how I get on.

16 strand kumihimo 16 strand kumihimo braid

Till next time!

Dx

 

Leave a Reply

