A Little Me Time….

I realised recently that whilst I was spending all this time making new pieces for my Etsy store I had forgotten one important thing – me! The whole reason I started jewellery making was so that I could have an endless supply of fabulously, unique pieces of jewellery. Lately however, with all my energy going into what’s on Etsy, I was beginning to forget what fun it was just to make stuff for me. So this weekend I decided to treat myself to a few new necklaces.

The first one is made with one of my favourite stones, Labradorite. The stones are so naturally beautiful I wanted to keep it simple, so I just added a silver cage style  bead and toggle clasp and voila! This is a great everyday piece, I wore it today with some jeans and a top.

photo

This second piece is made with black coral beads. I’ve had these beads in my stash for months and have been meaning to make them into a necklace. Again they are so stunning that I just wanted to string them simply. I added some small gold spacer beads as an accent. It’s such a dramatic look, I think I’ll wear this one to my office Christmas party this week.

photo

Lastly I dug out this gorgeous Amethyst druzy pendant that I bought nearly a year ago and finally hung it onto a gold chain. So easy to do I can’t believe I hadn’t done it sooner, will be great to wear over the summer.

photo

And just so I wouldnt come across as totally selfish, I thought I’d make a man bracelet for my brothers birthday today. Unfortunately I didn’t have enough of the beads I wanted to use so I scrapped the idea (it’s the thought that counts after all, right!). It would have been my second attempt at man jewellery, my first being a 50 inch lava stone necklace, which I gave to my brother on his birthday last year. He broke it 2 weeks later at a Christmas party, so it’s probably a good thing that I wasn’t able to make him anything else!

Until next time!

Dx

3 thoughts on “A Little Me Time….

  1. I know how you feel! Sometimes you get so into production that you forget to make pieces for yourself and don’t realize it till you have somewhere special to go and you want to rock your own brand…
    I really like the Labradorite necklace, it very classic looking and also the Amethyst pendent necklace is definitely a head turner.

    1. Thank you so much. You’re exactly right, just today I realised I have nothing to wear to my office Christmas party next week, so tomorrow I’ll be doing some more making for me ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

