Happy Birthday Blog

Today is the 2nd anniversary of my blog, apparently called a “Blogiversary”!!. It’s been a busy year,  with job changes and wedding planning and I haven’t had as much time for my blog as I would have liked, but I still love it as much as I always have. On my first blog anniversary I celebrated with discounts in my Etsy shop. Unfortunately, I can’t do the same this year as my store is currently empty. When my listings expired recently I made the decision not to renew them for the moment. If I’m not able to give my shop the attention it needs, I didn’t think I should be selling anything. I’ll be re-stocking agin in November ready for Christmas.

Anyway, in celebration of my Blogiversary, I thought I’d share pics of some of my most recent pieces of jewellery. I made these on a rare free day I had last month. I had almost forgotten how much fun it is to just have a play around with all the beads until an idea comes together.

Pic1: This necklace is upcycled from a broken bracelet I bought at Accessorize. I added the spikes and the blue faceted stone beads. I can’t remember what type of stone they are but I know that they are dyed as they left a lovely blue tint on my fingers – note to self when buying dyed beads in the future.

Pic2: Turquoise dyed wood beads strung simply with brushed silver hollow beads. The necklace has a really chunky look but is super light to wear. Looks great with a maxi dress or plain t-shirt.

Pic3: For this piece I was desperate to use this neon yellow thread I had purchased last year. I knotted it between the turquoise beads (which are actually magnesite and not turquoise at all) and added a large hollow copper bead. It’s a design I’ve done before (see https://dstonedesigns.wordpress.com/2013/12/08/a-little-me-time-2/) and is a piece that is really easy to wear.

necklace, beads IMG_4799 IMG_4797

Right now, I am working on my biggest project ever – wedding jewellery!!  I’m really excited about it but nervous too as it’s a big test of my jewellery-making skills. There’ll be some sneak peeks coming up in my next post so look out for that.

Big thanks to everyone who reads and follows this blog, I appreciate you all!

Until next time.

Dx

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Blog

Leave a Reply

