Discovering Murano Glass Beads

Tomorrow I’ll be heading to southern Italy to attend a wedding and also to have a relaxing break from my own wedding planning. Like every beader, whenever I go to a new place I like to do some bead shopping for unique items I can’t get at home. I did a quick Google search to get an idea of the kind of beads I may find in Italy and came across the famous Murano glass beads. Now being a gemstone and wood enthusiast, I have to admit that I haven’t given glass beads much attention before and whilst I had vaguely heard of them before, I had no real knowledge of these fancy glass beads. It turns out that they are made in Murano Island (actually a group of 7 islands) situated off the coast of Venice in northern Italy. The Murano glass beads are each individual little works of art with intricate patterns of colour. Some are highly decorated, like the “fiorato” (meaning floral) bead which is usually decorated with flowers and glitter, whilst others have just a solid colour and foil backings…

 

beadbead3bead2bead4bead5

Pictures from the fabulous online store Bead Addict (click here to visit the site)

Unfortunately I won’t get to actually visit Murano, but I’m hoping to find some nice little bead shop in Naples or Amalfi where I can check out more of these interesting little beads. They are unlike anything I’ve ever used in my jewellery-making and personally I would find them too decorative to use in everyday pieces. But because they are so far out of my comfort zone I have decided to challenge myself to purchase some Murano glass beads on my trip and use them in some jewellery. Ideally I’ll find super decorative ones but chances are I’ll chicken out and buy plain ones. Either way, I’ll let you know how I get on.

Until next time

Dx

6 thoughts on “Discovering Murano Glass Beads

  1. if you go to Venice you can not forget to visit the island of Murano. In this district there are skilled glassmakers who work for generations the art glass creating objects of great beauty and delicacy. Even the Murano glass jewelry and its beads are famous. To learn more, read this article:
    http://www.stravagante-jewelry.com/murano-glass-jewelry-beads-history.html
    Might be worth a mention on your site.
    Marco Piazzalunga
    — writer and historian of Murano glass —

  2. A trip to Venice, especially the island of Murano can provide you with countless opportunities for glass bead shopping. Yeah, you can find beads in many unbelievable designs and colors. Hope you’ll be able to visit this region soon! Thanks DX for the post!

    1. Thanks for reading. I would love to visit Venice and do some bead shopping the murano glass is so beautiful . I didn’t get the opportunity on this trip but I will be back!

  3. Bet you had an amazing time! It’s a beautiful part of the world. I’ve been to Naples and Amalfi, and to Murano too, but not for many years. When’s the wedding?
    Many thanks for the follow. 🙂

    1. It was a wonderful trip thanks, such a beautiful place with amazing food and people. The wedding was Oct 18, we had a fabulous day, wish we could do it all again.

      Thanks for stopping by my blog! xx

Leave a Reply

